Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Corbin Teacher Named Kentucky Teacher of the Year

A Corbin Middle School language arts teacher and a Daviess County elementary school teacher are receiving honors for their excellence in the classroom. Corbin's Kristal Doolin was named Kentucky Teacher of the Year on Wednesday during a ceremony at the state Capitol. The honor comes with a $10,000 cash prize.

Doolin, a graduate of Union College in Barbourville, has taught for 15 years.

The annual Teacher of the Year award is sponsored by Ashland Inc.

Heidi Givens of Tamarack Elementary in Daviess County was named the Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Allison Hunt of duPont Manual High School in Jefferson County was named High School Teacher of the Year.

Givens and Hunt received $3,000 awards.

Ashland has recognized outstanding Kentucky teachers since 1988, providing more than $650,000 in cash prizes.

Related Content