Four to Be Inducted Into 2014 WKU Athletic Hall of Fame

Sep 10, 2014

The 2014 WKU Athletic Hall of Fame class be inducted this November.
Credit WKU

WKU has announced the names of four individuals who will make up the 24th class of the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame. The quartet will be inducted during WKU’s homecoming weekend, Nov 7-9.

The four are:

  • Dan King/ Men’s Basketball 1952-54; Baseball 1952-54

King helped the basketball team win 85 percent of its games during his time on the Hill, and a star on the school’s 1954 team that won 4th place in the NIT. Coach E.A. Diddle oncecalled King, a 6’5” power forward, the fastest player he ever coached.

King also once pitched both games of a doubleheader and won both contests. He helped lead the WKU baseball team to two Ohio Valley Conference championships, in 1952 and 1953.

  •  Darnell Mee/ Men’s Basketball 1991-93

Mee was named an All-America selection in 1993, the same year he helped lead the Hilltoppers to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament. Mee scored 1,253 points during his career, ranking him 18th all-time on that list. He was drafted by the Golden State Warriors in 1993 and played in Denver from 1993 to 1995.


  • Lee Murray/Football 1961-62; Baseball 1962-63/Assistant Football Coach 1969-77, 1992-94

During his football playing days, Murray was the first Hilltopper to be named the team’s “Most Valuable Player” two straight seasons. He was the team captain his senior season. As a star outfielder for the baseball team, Murray was named to the OVC’s first All-Conference baseball team in 1962.

  • Chris Price/Football 1999-02

Price was a three-time All-America offensive lineman who starred on WKU’s 2002 I-AA national championship football team. He was a first-team all-conference selection three straight year, from 2000 to 2002.

You can read more about King, Mee, Murray, and Price here.