Celebrate Thanksgiving With Special Holiday Programs on WKU Public Radio

Nov 23, 2021

Credit Priscilla du Preez/Unsplash

Thanksgiving Day will offer some special holiday programs on WKU Public Radio.

Starting at 9 a.m. central/10 a.m eastern: Giving Thanks: A Celebration of Fall, Food, & Gratitude. Classical music and stories for Thanksgiving, host John Birge creates a thoughtful, contemporary reflection on the meaning of the holiday.

At 11 a.m. central/12 p.m. eastern: The Splendid Table’s Turkey Confidential 2021. Thanksgiving is full of high expectations, a huge menu and a house full of guests – which can make for a stressful day or two in the kitchen.  That’s why holiday cooks, hosts and eaters tune into The Splendid Table’s “Turkey Confidential” on Thanksgiving morning. Francis Lam takes calls and comes to the rescue of Thanksgiving cooks, kitchen helpers, and inner guests during the biggest cooking day of the year.

Cheryl Day, New York Times bestselling cookbook author, and a featured guest on A Turkey Confidential
Credit Angie Moser

At 1 p.m. central/2 p.m eastern: Christopher Kimball’s Milk Street Thanksgiving Special. Getting ready for Thanksgiving with some help from our friends. Cheryl Day joins us to answer your holiday baking questions, Sam Fore cooks Thanksgiving with a Sri Lankan take, J. Kenji López-Alt shares why he eats lobster for Thanksgiving, Dan Pashman tells how to eat pie the right way, and we learn to make Yogurt-Roasted Carrots with Warm Spices.

At 2 p.m. central/ 3 eastern: A Shaker Tradition.  Kevin Willis hosts this program of instrumental and vocal arrangements of Shaker hymns and dance tunes. Included are vocal performances by the South Union Shaker Quartet, and instrumental arrangements by musicians William Coulter and Barry Phillips. In addition to the music, the program features comments by Tommy Hines, director of the Shaker Museum at South Union, Kentucky, and an interview with musician Barry Philips.