2018 Holiday Shows

Hanukkah Lights (aired Dec. 3)
A perennial NPR favorite with all new Hanukkah stories. Hosted by Susan Stamberg and Murray Horwitz. Monday,
Archive

Hanukkah in Story and Song 2018 (aired Dec. 3)
This hour-long Hanukkah favorite returns: A celebration by The Western Wind performing Ladino songs of Spanish Jews, Yiddish melodies of Eastern Europe and modern Israeli tunes. 
 

Christmas Programming
Saturday, Dec. 22
Celtic Christmas from Thistle & Shamrock

Fiona Ritchie offers music and words to celebrate the holiday season. 
Dec. 22, 11am central/12pm eastern

Jazz Night in America
The weekly program, hosted by Christian McBride, will turn its attention to holiday music, recorded live in concert venues around the country.
Dec. 22, 7 pm central/8 pm eastern

Jazz Happening Now Christmas
Every holiday season, jazz musicians get in the Christmas spirit with fresh new recordings of traditional and original music. This year, Jazz Happening Now host Jeff Hanley will produce a new hour of 2018’s best new Christmas jazz.
Dec. 22, 8 pm central/ 9 pm eastern

Jazz After Hours Christmas
Jazz musicians love to bring a jazzy flair to Christmas and Christmas music. This year, Jazz After Hours revels through the night with music newly released for Christmas 2018 and some well-loved classic Christmas jazz!
Dec. 22, beginning at 9 pm central/10 eastern

Sunday, Dec. 23
Barren River Breakdown Christmas Special
Longtime host Erika Brady puts her unique spin on Christmas, with selections from the roots of American music.
Dec. 23, 12 pm central/1 pm eastern

Old Scratchy Records Christmas Special
Christmas music is timeless, as heard in this special hosted by Nolan Porterfield.  

Dec. 23, 6 pm central/7 pm eastern

Concierto Christmas Special
Frank Dominguez hosts a special holiday edition of the national bi-lingual program that features music by Spanish and Latin American composers and performers presented in English and in Spanish.
Dec. 23, 10 pm central/11 pm eastern

Monday, Dec. 24
Tinsel Tales Ep. 3
In keeping with a well-loved NPR holiday tradition, hear the third collection of extraordinary Christmas stories that will transport you to unexpected places. Audie Cornish, Ken Harbaugh, Nina Totenberg and other voices from NPR's past and present tell stories of the season in this hour-long special.
Dec. 24 1 pm central/2 pm eastern

Pink Martini Joy to the World
The internationally acclaimed “little orchestra" Pink Martini bedecks the airwaves with festive holiday songs from across the globe. From timeless classics to rarely heard gems, hear a multi-denominational, multi-cultural jubilee, overflowing with enough holiday spirit to warm your entire family. 
Dec. 24, 2 pm central/3 pm eastern 

Festival of Nine Lessons & Carols
Pipedreams host Michael Barone presents this live service of spoken-word and music  broadcast from the chapel of King's College in Cambridge, England. The 30-voice King's College Choir performs the legendary Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols service of Biblical readings and music.
Dec. 24, 8pm central, 9 pm eastern 

Tuesday, Dec. 25
Welcome Christmas
“Welcome Christmas!” is a perennial Christmas favorite from VocalEssence, one of the world’s premier choral ensembles. Join host John Birge for an hour of traditional carols and new discoveries, including the world premiere of two carols from the annual Christmas Carol Contest. 
Dec. 25, 9 am central/10 am eastern

Christmas with Morehouse & Spelman Choir
One of the great holiday traditions in America, the choirs of Morehouse and Spelman Colleges -- two of the most prestigious historically black institutions in the nation -- get together to present a spine-tingling concert program. This encore presentation features the best works of the last several years.
Dec. 25, 10 am central/11am eastern

Tinsel Tales Ep. 4
In keeping with a well-loved NPR holiday tradition, hear the fourth collection of extraordinary Christmas stories that will transport you to unexpected places. NPR's past and present tell stories of the season in this hour-long special. 
Dec. 25, 1 pm central/2 pm eastern

Big “Tiny Desk” Holiday Special
Celebrate the season with amazing holiday performances from The Tiny Desk Concert series including Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, Steve Martin, Hanson, The Polyphonic Spree and more! Hosted by NPR Music frenemies Bob Boilen and Stephen Thompson.
Dec. 25, 2 pm central/3 pm eastern

Holiday Choral Festival
Music to mark the holiday season, recorded in Louisville, produced by Louisville Public Media.
Dec. 25, 7 pm central/8 pm eastern

New Year’s Day
New Year’s Day from Vienna
The Vienna Philharmonic presents its ever popular annual New Year's Day concert from the Golden Hall of the Musikverein in Vienna. You'll hear your favorite waltzes, polkas and more – a festive way to start off the New Year. Presented by NPR Music.

Jan. 1, 10 am central/11 am eastern